He Must Already Be In Love

I must have written a million poems, countless unfinished novels, only to tear them all to shreds and throw them in the fire
I couldn’t find the words to say what was in my heart, couldn’t find my story to show you, this here, my one true desire

***

Remember these words that I say to you here
Whispered upon my lips like the sweetest song
No matter what he might say or what he might do
You can never make him wait too long

I want to feel the strength of your arms, the warmth and weight of your body
Come hold me, come touch and explore the preciousness and mess on the inside
I’ll give you my love, my fidelity
I’ll give you everything I am

But remember these words here that I say to you
No matter what he might say or what he might do
That you can never make him wait too long
He must already be in love
Before you give him your body
He must already prove himself to be true

Run with me through a field of flowers
Fill my heart with joy
I want to follow you
Protect me with your strength and provide for me from your means
Even though they may be meager

But remember all these things that I have ever said to you
Remember what I wrote
No matter what he may ever say or do
You can never make him wait too long
Before you give him your body
He must already be in love

Be my sweet covering
My husband, my love, be my everything
My strong fortress in times of war and strife
The advice and wisdom I seek
The only one to ever touch or hold me

But always remember these things here that I say he must do
It doesn’t matter the words he may speak
The only thing that matters is the commitment he will or won’t make to you

No matter what you might feel
You must see reality for what it really is
No matter the strong emotions he evokes inside
Let them wash over you like the incoming tide
But still, you can never make him wait too long

Guard your heart
Before you give him your body
Just remember this one thing
No matter what he says right now
He must already be in love

Leave a Reply

