Childbearing, Working Women, Man-Pleasing and the Figure

What I want to know is this: if having children “ruins” a woman’s figure then why did your average woman in the 1950s have a waist size that was seven inches smaller than what women’s are today, even though 1950s women had, on average, a lot more children than women do today? Obviously it becomes a bit absurd to blame childbearing for the reason women get out of shape especially since, from what I’ve seen, it is usually the women who don’t have children who are the most out of shape.

If you look at other mammals it’s quite easy to see that most of them become very skinny (and usually stay that way) after having their babies. Obviously it’s something in our environment and lifestyle that has caused us to be out of shape, not our biology or childbearing. Despite our higher level of social organization, we humans are, underneath it all, still mammals.

I’ve never been overweight and I’m a mother. I still wear bikinis at the beach. But I’ve always made it a point to stay in shape. Admittedly, I got out of shape over the fall and winter. I used to walk one and a half hours every day then my treadmill broke. I became frustrated as there was really no way to walk adequately outdoors where I live and I took an exercise hiatus.. The petite 26 1/2 inch waist I had turned into a 29 inch waist. Granted, your average American woman still has half a foot more around her waist than me, but that’s hardly a consolation. I have since gone back to working harder than before (and plan to do so for the rest of my life) and the weight is starting to come back off. It takes a lot for me to admit how out of shape I got because I’m very ashamed of it, but I refuse to stay out of shape or ever again become out of shape. I don’t care if I have to do jumping jacks in my living room for two hours everyday, I’m going to stay in shape. I don’t diet, however, as dieting messes with the body’s hormones and usually makes you fat in the long run. I eat when I’m hungry and eat I until I’m full. I also eat real sugar.

Admittedly, I’m a bit of a man pleaser. Ok, maybe a lot. Today women are supposed to dress only for themselves and not give a damn about what men think but I’m a bit more traditional. (Ok, that’s an understatement as those who follow me know I’m radically traditional). I like to look good. I like to dress pretty and I like the feedback I get from my husband. Even though I don’t go around trying to tease other men intentionally I still also like to know I’m attractive. I rarely see a woman around where I live wearing anything other than jeans and a t-shirt. I, however, love dresses, skirts, lacy lingerie, high heels and red lipstick. I wear jeans sometimes but usually try to look as feminine as possible whenever I do. I also never cut or trim my hair so it falls a little past my waist when it is down.

Staying home allows me to focus on my family and focus on staying in shape for my husband. I have plenty of time to stay active and work out. I do my chores and have spare time for staying in shape. It is one of the privileges of being a traditional woman. But my husband as well has privileges as he doesn’t have to come home and do anything. Unless he’s working on some project or fixing something he normally comes home and watches TV. He has plenty of free time to devote to his own interests as well. With egalitarian marriage comes the loss of privileges for both spouses. More than likely the stress of working makes women put on weight and, as well, nobody even lives in the home (that they are majorly in debt for) and they spend their lives rushing around barely even having time for family, their spouse, cooking healthy food or regular exercise.

Biology isn’t destiny (for example, just look how feminized modern men have become in the post-feminist world) and evolution doesn’t happen quickly enough for it to be to blame for the obesity epidemic. We all are genetically predisposed to be many different things in this life but the fact is that our environment, our lifestyles and our actions affect our hormones, brain chemistry and the way our genes express themselves. Maybe going back to the basics and embracing masculinity, femininity and sex roles would do a lot to normalize our lives and keep us all happier and healthier.

Recommended:

How to be pleasing to your husband

These are my opinions and personal experiences about staying in shape. I’m not a doctor so don’t be a retard. If you have some health question or issue see a professional.

There are also medications, health problems and other factors that can influence our weight, but that is not the subject of this post.

